Coat of Arms

Description

Coat of Arms

Per chevron Or and Gules a chevron barry wavy Azure and Argent between in chief a castle Gules between two escutchons, that to the dexter Gules charged with two lions passant guardant in pale Or, that to the sinister Argent charged with three chevronels Gules, and in base a fleur-de-lis between a maple leaf and a mullet on stems conjoined in one spray Argent.

Motto :  « FAMILLE  FOI  LABEUR »

Original concept by Karine Constantineau, Miramichi Herald, assisted by the heralds of arms of the Canadian Heraldic Authority
Artist: David Farrar
Calligraphy: Luc Saucier

These arms are consigned in Volume IV, page 416 of the Public Register of Arms, Badges and Flags of Canada to be worn and used in perpetuity by the ASSOCIATION DES FORTIN D’AMÉRIQUE, in accordance with heraldic right in Canada.

Significance of the coat of arms

The coat of arms of the l’Association des Fortin d’Amérique comprises elements of the coats of arms of Normandy and Perche, the ancestral Fortin regions. The fortress refers to the name Fortin meaning “a small fort”. As our ancestors moved to New France, the waves represent the crossing of the Atlantic Ocean from France. The fleur-de-lis represents France and French Quebec. The maple leaf  and star  symbolize the Fortin presence in Canada and the United States respectively. 

The motto FAMILLE FOI LABEUR (Family, Faith, Labour) represents the watchword for the Fortins of the past as well as the present.

Nos armoiries

Description des armoiries

Les Armes

Divisé en chevron d’or sur gueules au chevron burelé-ondé d’azur et d’argent brochant, accompagné en chef d’un fortin de gueules accosté de deux écussons, celui à dextre du même à deux léopards d’or l’un sur l’autre, celui à senestre d’argent à trois étais de gueules, et, en pointe, d’une fleur de lis accostée d’une feuille d’érable et d’une étoile tigées, jointes sur une même branche, le tout d’argent.

La devise :  « FAMILLE  FOI  LABEUR »

Concept original de Karine Constantineau, Héraut Miramichi, assistée par les hérauts d’armes de l’Autorité héraldique du Canada.
Artiste peintre : David Farrar
Calligraphie : Luc Saucier

LESQUELLES armoiries sont consignées dans le volume IV, page 416 du Registre public des armoiries, drapeaux et insignes du Canada pour être portées et utilisées à perpétuité par l’ASSOCIATION DES FORTIN D’AMÉRIQUE le tout conformément au droit héraldique du Canada.

Signification des armoiries

L’armoirie de l’Association des Fortin d’Amérique est constituée d’éléments des armoiries de la Normandie et du Perche, régions ancestrales des Fortin. La forteresse est une référence au nom de Fortin et au mot «fortin», signifiant un petit fort. Les ancêtres s’étant déplacés vers la Nouvelle-France, les vagues représentent la traversée de l’Atlantique effectuée par les ancêtres des Fortin vers la Nouvelle-France. La fleur de lis représente la France et le Québec français. La feuille d’érable rappelle la présence des Fortin au Canada et l’étoile leur présence aux États-Unis.

La devise FAMILLE  FOI  LABEUR  se veut un mot d’ordre pour tous les Fortin d’hier et d’aujourd’hui.