Trois-Rivières - 2013

Author: André Fortin (0043)
Photos: Courtesy of Michel Fortin (0148)
Translated by: Lilian Fortin (0527)
Source: Le Fortinfo, # 24 – novembre 2013, pages 16-17
Last update: novembre 2013
Email: info@afafortin.com

Every summer, the Association des Fortin d’Amérique extends an invitation to its members for a friendly get together. On Saturday July 6, 2013, the Association membership was invited to the Vieilles Forges Golf Club in Trois-Rivières for the annual reunion. Over sixty people, from all over Quebec, Ontario and even the United States accepted the invitation.

This year’s reunion was planned on a smaller scale. At 9:30, Association Treasurer René Fortin, his wife Jeanne and his son Jonathan were on hand to greet members. While waiting for the start of the general assembly, participants were free to visit genealogy or vending booths as well as meet up with Fortin friends from previous years.

At 11:00 the Association began its general assembly with about sixty participants. After the reading of the minutes by Secretary Achille Fortin (0082), the balance sheets by Treasurer, René Fortin (0022) and the 2012-2013 activity report by President Charles Fortin (0459), it was time to proceed with the election of the Board of Directors of the Association.

Jean-Marie Fortin (0005) and Muriel Pagé (0552) were designated as election president and secretary. Six mandates were ending this year and five positions remained vacant from last year. Thus, six two-year positions and five one-year positions were to be filled.

As a result of the elections, a new Board of Directors was formed which includes the following members:

From left to right: Charles Fortin (0459) President, Muriel Fortin (0603)
Vice-president, Gisèle Vézina (0012) administrator, André Fortin (0043) administrator,
Jean-Pierre Fortin (0008) administrator, Monique Fortin (0297) administrator,
René Fortin (0022) Treasurer and Achille Fortin (0082) Secretary.

After the assembly, the President invited participants to the dining room for a delicious hot lunch. During lunch, five-year pins and ten-year pins souvenir membership, as well as
lifetime membership certificates were distributed.

Recipients of the 10 year pin present at the assembly: Left to right: Pascale Fortin (0336),
Réal Fortin (0422), Réjeanne Fortin (0369), Pierre Fortin (0466), Richard Fortin (0411),
Donald Fortin (0464), Bertrand Fortin (0060), Charles Fortin (0459), Pauline Fortin (0423)
and Clarence Fortin (0373).

Additionally a few door prizes were drawn from among the assembled participants.

After the meal, for those who wished, a tour of the Forges-du-Saint-Maurice was available. This historical location housed the first metallurgical industrial site in Canada. Situated along the Saint-Maurice River, the site represents a cultural treasure with its “Grande Maison” and its archeological remains.

In ending, we wish to extend our thanks to all those who contributed to the success of the reunion either through their help with the general organisation of the event or their presence. Our thanks also to the Golf Club and the caterer, Les Réceptions Pépin for their warm welcome, their cooperation and for the excellent meal served with a smile and great friendliness.

Trois-Rivières - 2013

Auteur: André Fortin (0043)
Photos: gracieuseté de Michel Fortin (0148)
Source: Le Fortinfo, # 24 – novembre 2013, pages 16-17
Dernière mise à jour: novembre 2013
Courriel: info@afafortin.com

Chaque été l’Association des Fortin d’Amérique invite ses membres à une rencontre amicale. Le samedi 6 juillet dernier, les membres de l’Association étaient donc invités au Club de Golf les Vieilles Forges à Trois-Rivières pour leur rencontre annuelle. Plus d’une soixantaine de personnes, venues de partout au Québec, de l’Ontario et même des États-Unis ont répondus à l’invitation.

Cette année, la rencontre se voulait plus modeste. Dès 9h30 le trésorier René Fortin, son épouse Jeanne et son fils Jonathan accueillaient les participants. Ceux-ci avaient, en attendant l’assemblée générale, le choix de visiter les kiosks de généalogie et de vente ainsi que de fraterniser avec les amis Fortin rencontrés aux cours des années précédentes.

À 11 h, l’association tenait son assemblée générale en présence d’environ soixante personnes. Après les lectures du procès-verbal par le secrétaire Achille Fortin (0082), du bilan financier par le trésorier René Fortin (0022) et du rapport des activités de l’année 2012-2013 par le président Charles Fortin (0459), le temps est maintenant venu de procéder à l’élection des membres au conseil d’administration de l’Association.

Jean-Marie Fortin (0005) est désigné président et Muriel Pagé (0552) secrétaire d’élection. Six (6) personnes terminent leur mandat et cinq postes sont restés vacants depuis l’an dernier. Donc, six postes pour deux ans et cinq postes pour un an sont à combler.

Le résultat des élections permet la formation du nouveau conseil d’administration dont voici les membres:

De gauche à droite; Charles Fortin (0459) président, Muriel Fortin (0603) vice-présidente, Gisèle Vézina (0012) administratrice, André Fortin (0043) administrateur, Jean-Pierre Fortin (0008) administrateur, Monique Fortin (0297) administratrice, René Fortin (0022) trésorier et Achille Fortin (0082) secrétaire.

L’Assemblée générale terminée, le président invite les participants à prendre place aux tables afin de se faire servir un succulent dîner chaud au cours du quel sera remis aux récipiendaires présent les épinglettes souvenir de 5 ans et 10 ans, ainsi que les certificats de membre à vie.

Récipiendaires de l’épinglette 10 ans présents au rassemblement. De gauche à droite; Pascale Fortin (0336), Réal Fortin (0422), Réjeanne Fortin (0369), Pierre Fortin (0466), Richard Fortin (0411), Donald Fortin (0464), Bertrand Fortin (0060), Charles Fortin (0459), Pauline Fortin (0423) et Clarence Fortin (0373).

Après le repas, les participants qui le désirait, ont pus se diriger aux Forges-du-Saint-Maurice pour une visite libre de ce lieu historique, première industrie sidérurgique au Canada. En bordure de la rivière Saint-Maurice le site des Forges nous présente un trésor culturel avec la visite de la Grande Maison et de ses vestiges archéologique.

En terminant, merci à tous ceux qui ont contribué au succès de ces retrouvailles par une participation à l’organisation générale de l’événement ou par leur présence. Un merci également aux responsables du Club de Golf et du traiteur Les Réceptions Pépin pour leur accueil chaleureux, leur collaboration et pour l’excellent repas servi avec le sourire et une grande convivialité.