La Côte-du-Sud - 2003

Author: Gisèle Vézina (0012)
Translated by: Louise Gosselin (0013) and Robert House
Photos: Courtesy of Gilles Bélisles
Source: Fortinfo, # 4 – novembre 2003, pages 3-4
Last update: novembre 2003
Email: info@afafortin.com

Second Gathering

Last July 19 & 20th, L’Association des Fortin d’Amérique held its second reunion at “Côte du Sud” (South Shore of The St. Lawrence River). Starting at 9:30 am on Saturday, the participants registered and were given a colored card denoting from which of Julien Fortin’s sons was their forefather. Approximately 250 people attended, coming from all corners of Quebec, Ontario and even from the U.S.A.

Mr. Rosaire Dionne welcoming a group of visitors.
the Dionne house living room.

 

Saturday at 1:00 pm, four buses took the happy crowd to Cap St-Ignace where they visited Rosaire Dionne’s house, which was the home of many descendants of Eustache Fortin, son of Julien. Near by, they visited “L’Ébénisterie Fortin” (cabinet works), a business founded by Arthur Fortin around 1880 and administered by the Fortin family for many generations. The place has kept its old world charm.

The Fortin carpentry shop

 

The tour also included visits to the magnificent churches of L’Islet-sur-Mer and St-Jean-Port-Joli as well as Parc-des-trois-Bérêts at St-Jean-Port-Joli. Large and beautiful sculptures as well as many family benches including the one of the Fortin family embellish the park, situated on the shore of the St Lawrence. During the tour, the guides gave us a lot of information concerning the area where the Fortin ancestors lived and worked.

The chapel at the L’Islets-sur-Mer church
The Trois-Bérets Park at St-Jean-Por-Joli

The Côte-du-Sud Vocal Ensemble

Later, wine was offered to the group by the town of St-Jean-Port-Joli and a banquet was served during which everyone greatly enjoyed a men’s choir singing a capella.

On Sunday, Louis-Georges Fortin, Father of foreign Missions, celebrated a mass at the church of Cap St-Igance. After a short tour of the church, a reception was given by the municipal administration of Cap St-Ignace.

Returning to St-Jean-Port-Joli, a brunch was served followed by the annual general meeting of the Association. The following persons were elected to the board of directors for 2003-2004: Jean-Pierre Fortin (008), president; Zachée Fortin (053), vice-president; Jean-Marie Fortin (005), secretary; René Fortin (022) treasurer and the administrators: Pauline Bouchard (058), Achille Fortin (082), André Fortin (002), André Fortin (043), registrar, Bibiane Fortin (019), Hélène Fortin (021) et Lucette Fortin (439).

Two people who are no longer members of the board have agreed to continue to assume their previous responsibilities: Louis-François Garceau, archivist and Gisèle Vézina, genealogist.

An exhibition and a genealogical workshop were of great interest to the participants during the two days of the reunion.

The brunch
Exhibition
Genealogie workshop

La Côte-du-Sud - 2003

Auteur: Gisèle Vézina (0012)
Photos: gracieuseté de Gilles Bélisles
Source: Fortinfo, # 4 – novembre 2003, pages 3-4
Dernière mise à jour: novembre 2003
Courriel: info@afafortin.com

Deuxième rassemblement

Les 19 et 20 juillet derniers, l’Association des Fortin d’Amérique tenait son 2e grand rassemblement sur la « Côte-du-Sud ». Dès 9h30 samedi, les participants se pressaient à l’inscription où ils reçurent une cocarde de couleur, identifiée au fils de Julien dont ils descendaient. Environ 250 personnes ont répondu à l’appel, venant des quatre coins du Québec, de l’Ontario et même des États-Unis.

M. Rosaire Dionne (0248) accueille un groupe de visiteurs
Le salon de la maison Dionne

 

À 13h samedi, quatre autobus ont amené les joyeux promeneurs vers Cap-St-Ignace où ils ont visité la maison Rosaire Dionne, laquelle maison a abrité plusieurs générations descendant d’Eustache Fortin, fils de Julien. Également, ils ont pu admirer dans la même localité, « l’Ébénisterie Fortin », entreprise fondée par Arthur Fortin vers 1880, administrée par la famille Fortin durant plusieurs générations et ayant conservé son cachet d’antan.

L’ébénisterie Fortin

 

Les magnifiques églises de L’Islet-sur-Mer et de St-Jean-Port-Joli faisaient également partie de la visite, de même que le Parc-des-trois-Bérêts à St-Jean-Port-Joli. Ce parc situé sur le bord du fleuve est orné de très belles sculptures de grande taille, ainsi que de plusieurs bancs familiaux dont celui de la famille Fortin. Tout au long du parcours, les guides nous ont instruits des lieux habités et foulés par les ancêtres Fortin.

Chapelle de l’église de L’Islet-sur-Mer
Parc-des-trois-Bérêts à St-Jean-Port-Joli
Ensemble vocal de la Côte-du-Sud

Plus tard, un chœur de voix d’hommes, chantant a cappella, nous a émerveillés entre les différents services du banquet, lequel repas a été précédé d’une coupe de vin offerte aux membres présents par la municipalité de St-Jean-Port-Joli.

Le dimanche une messe a été célébrée dans l’église de Cap-St-Ignace par Louis-Georges Fortin, père des Missions étrangères. Après une brève visite du temple, le Conseil municipal de Cap-St-Ignace a offert un vin d’honneur aux participants.

De retour à St-Jean-Port-Joli, nous avons eu droit à un brunch suivi de l’assemblée générale annuelle de l’Association. Les personnes suivantes siégeront au Conseil d’administration pour l’année 2003-2004 : Jean-Pierre Fortin (008), président; Zachée Fortin (053), vice-président; Jean-Marie Fortin (005), secrétaire; René Fortin (022), trésorier et les administrateurs : Pauline Bouchard (058), Achille Fortin (082), André Fortin (002), André Fortin (043), registraire, Bibiane Fortin (019), Hélène Fortin (021) et Lucette Fortin (439).

Deux personnes qui ne sont plus membres du Conseil, ont accepté de continuer à assumer les responsabilités qu’elles avaient : Louis-François Garceau, préposé aux Archives et Gisèle Vézina, généalogiste.

Durant ces deux jours, une exposition et un atelier de généalogie ont vivement intéressé les participants.

Le brunch
L’exposition
L’atelier de généalogie